Abu Dhabi Mangroves

For the last two weeks I have enjoyed Abu Dhabi’s late year temperatures.  I would say ‘autumn’ but frankly every time I go it looks the same except for the the minimally variable temperatures.  Its really hot mid year – Jul/Aug – and pleasantly cool in “mid-winter” dropping into the teens at night.  I can live with that!  The two weeks ended abruptly with a 4 hour flight to Almaty – the door on the flying tube closed on 30C and opened 4 hours later 29 degrees lower.

Formula One Race 23 Nov 2014

Etihad Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2014

Although the principal reason for our visit was to for family reasons, especially to see our treasured little grand person, I had an ulterior purpose.  My family bought a 3 day pass to the Etihad Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix, the final F1 event of the season, as my birthday gift.

I’m an avid sports fan – football (soccer, not that pseudo-rugby played over the pond), F1 and motor rallying (which was my sport).

The Who 50 year concert

The Who Concert at du Arena 23 Nov 2014

The weekend was excellent, crowned by The Who live concert at the du Arena, the first of their 50 years tour – yes they started in 1964.

The Who 50 year concert

The Who Concert at du Arena 23 Nov 2014

Damn – I remember their first hit!

Birding is always high on my list of priorities and I took advantage of 4 opportunities. The first on Wednesday before the race weekend was to a favourite place of mine in the mangroves alongside the main road leading to the Corniche – I can’t remember what it’s called.  It is close to what I think of as the pineapple buildings although others think of them as Corn lookalikes.

Buildings in Abu Dhabi UAE

Skyscrapers in Abu Dhabi

It is a haven in the hubbub of the city and road noise is a bit of a pain.

I have been visiting this site for a few years now, and walk from the park westwards from the Dolphin Fountains through the plantation and mangroves.  Last time I visited in March this year, construction work had started although I could circumvent it on the water side and walk for a few hundred metres as far as a small creek and large fence.

This visit however, construction had expanded and access was limited to about 35 metres.  Everything else seemed fenced off and so I gave up on it after an hour or so.

I didn’t have map or SatNav so meandered around for a while looking for a suitable site elsewhere around the city, navigating the confusion of roads and repeatedly temporarily losing myself.  Eventually I discovered a small park near the old Maqta Bridge.  It wasn’t great either so I stayed for a while and then headed home.  She-who-must-be-obeyed was keen for my company – or did she simply need help with baby-sitting and a shopping trip?

Birds Feeding in UAE

Four Species in Abu Dhabi Park 19 Nov 2014

So not a great morning but we planned a BBQ visit to a park near the airport before racing started on Saturday and that is always a good site for birding.

I discovered the following birds on this short trip:

Mangroves:

Red-wattled Plover

Egyptian Goose

Mallard

Grey Heron

Striated Heron

Great Egret

Little Egret

Black-winged Stilt

Redshank

Common Sandpiper

Turnstone

Black-headed Gull

Collared Dove

House Crow

White-eared Bulbul

Purple Sunbird – in non-breeding plumage

Graceful Prinia

Common Myna

House Sparrow

Greater Flamingo

Park and roadside

Cattle Egret

Little Egret

Western Reef Heron (Dark)

Collared Dove

Laughing Dove

Rose-ringed Parakeet

White-eared Bulbul

Graceful Prinia

Myna

House Sparrow

About starrywazzoh

I'm a birder in Western Europe (UK, France & Spain) and Central Asia, with occasional visits elsewhere. Birding is my principal hobby and I dedicate as much time around work and other commitments.
This entry was posted in UAE Birds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

