Exploring the Abu Dhabi Coastline 2

Following on from trip episode one, headed back over flat lands from Al Dubiya and entered the Abu Dhabi – Saudi highway race, dodging trucks in the inside lane and holding up high speed 4x4s that hitched a ride on my exhaust if I didn’t respond instantly to flashing lights, even though I was well over the limit myself and there were few gaps between the trucks to dodge into. I notice another country where mirrors and indicators are clearly optional extras too.

My target was Al Mirfa, a port town well off the highway.

Al Mirfa, UAE

Al Mirfa Sea Front, Nr Abu Dhabi, UAE

Al Mirfa near Abu Dhabi

Al Mirfa Port, UAE

Quite a nice village and I spent time at Mirfa Hotel – a bit old but with fresh coffee – which has good birding grounds, next to the beach.

Travelling back to Abu Dhabi was more of the same racing track.  A small problem when I overshot the turnoff and found myself halfway to Dubai.  Finally found a place to turn to head back along the 8-lane, only to miss the turning again.  An hour and a half added to the journey. Great! She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed seemed a little unsympathetic when I eventually found my way home.

Birds were good though:

Grey Heron

Grey Heron amongst the sea garbage

Grey Heron amongst the sea garbage

Western Reef Heron

Western Reef Heron near Mirfa Hotel

Western Reef Heron near Mirfa Hotel

Red-wattled Lapwing

Red-wattled Plover

Red-wattled Lapwings

Collared Dove

Laughing Dove

Daurian Shrike

Red-vented Bulbul

Birding in Abu Dhabi

Red-vented Bulbul at Al Mirfa UAE

Chiffchaff

Common Myna

Bluethroat

Siberian Stonechat

House Sparrow

White Wagtail

White Wagtail at Al Mirfa, UAE

White Wagtail at Al Mirfa, UAE

Barn Swallow

Rose-ringed Parakeet

Steppe Gull

Black-headed Gull

About starrywazzoh

I'm a birder in Western Europe (UK, France & Spain) and Central Asia, with occasional visits elsewhere. Birding is my principal hobby and I dedicate as much time around work and other commitments.
This entry was posted in UAE Birds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring the Abu Dhabi Coastline 2

  1. Shannon says:

    You have beautiful birds there! I can only dream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

