Do Our Roots Go Deeper Than We Previously Imagined?

I love anything to do with genealogy after embarking on tracing my own family roots a year or so ago.  I have a long way to go and not a lot of time so this is a project that is bound to take several years.

My as yet rough draft research has thrown up some interesting history, such as my family name, with its Scottish clan, tartan, castle heritage was adopted in the mid-1860s by my 2x great grandfather when he arrived from Ireland with his Irish name and Irish family to escape the hardships of the period to become a miner in the expanding Scottish coalfields.  And that my mother’s Pascal heritage (which I thought may have been French) goes back to 17th century Guiliemi Pashal – so far untraceable.  Doesn’t sound French though.

Unfortunately no distinctive heritage yet but no axe murderers either.  Longest direct line takes me back to my 10x great grandfather in the early 1500s, one Robert Martin (I wonder what he did to put bread on the table – manufacture dog food perhaps?).

On a wider endeavour to discover my roots, I entered my DNA into National Geographic’s ‘Genographic Project‘ which revealed my probable route from deepest Africa (up to 60,000 thousand years ago), which I found interesting and will continue to monitor as more DNA is evaluated in years to come.

But is this information now the full picture?  This BBC article has revealed that the exodus from Africa may have been pre-dated, by as far back as 120,000 years.  Lots more work to be done yet.

The teeth in the article look remarkable good – better than mine in fact!

About starrywazzoh

I'm a birder in Western Europe (UK, France & Spain) and Central Asia, with occasional visits elsewhere. Birding is my principal hobby and I dedicate as much time around work and other commitments.
This entry was posted in Genealogy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

